2015 MAR 24 P 5: 10

WEST VIRGINIA LEGISLATURE NA EIGHTY-SECOND LEGISLATURE OF STATE

REGULAR SESSION, 2015

ENROLLED
Senate Bill No. 415

(By Senator Trump)

[Passed March 13, 2015; in effect ninety days from passage.]



2915 MAR 24 P 5: 10

ENROLLED

OFFICE WEST VIRGINIA SECRETARY OF STATE

Senate Bill No. 415

(BY SENATOR TRUMP)

[Passed March 13, 2015; in effect ninety days from passage.]

AN ACT to amend and reenact §51-2-1 of the Code of West Virginia, 1931, as amended, relating to adding circuit judges to certain judicial circuits; providing for currently serving circuit judges to remain in office until December 31, 2016; and providing for the terms of office of circuit judges elected in the year 2016.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of West Virginia:

That §51-2-1 of the Code of West Virginia, 1931, as amended, be amended and reenacted to read as follows:

ARTICLE 2. CIRCUIT COURTS; CIRCUIT JUDGES.

- §51-2-1. Judicial circuits; terms of office; legislative findings and declarations; elections; terms of court.
 - 1 (a) The state shall be divided into the following judicial
 - 2 circuits with the following number of judges:
 - 3 (1) The counties of Brooke, Hancock and Ohio shall
 - 4 constitute the first circuit and shall have four judges;

- 5 (2) The counties of Marshall, Tyler and Wetzel shall 6 constitute the second circuit and shall have two judges;
- 7 (3) The counties of Doddridge, Pleasants and Ritchie 8 shall constitute the third circuit and shall have one judge;
- 9 (4) The counties of Wood and Wirt shall constitute the 10 fourth circuit and shall have three judges;
- 11 (5) The counties of Calhoun, Jackson, Mason and Roane
 12 shall constitute the fifth circuit and shall have two judges:
 13 Provided, That effective January 1, 2017, said circuit court
 14 shall have three judges; said additional circuit judge to be
 15 elected at the regularly scheduled election(s) to be held in the
 16 year 2016 and every eighth year thereafter;
- (6) The county of Cabell shall constitute the sixth circuitand shall have four judges;
- 19 (7) The county of Logan shall constitute the seventh 20 circuit and shall have two judges;
- 21 (8) The county of McDowell shall constitute the eighth 22 circuit and shall have two judges;
- (9) The county of Mercer shall constitute the ninth circuit
 and shall have three judges;
- (10) The county of Raleigh shall constitute the tenth circuit and shall have three judges: *Provided*, That effective January 1, 2017, said circuit court shall have four judges; said additional circuit judge to be elected at the regularly scheduled election(s) to be held in the year 2016 and every eighth year thereafter;
- 31 (11) The counties of Greenbrier and Pocahontas shall 32 constitute the eleventh circuit and shall have two judges:

- 33 (12) The county of Fayette shall constitute the twelfth 34 circuit and shall have two judges; 35 (13) The county of Kanawha shall constitute the 36 thirteenth circuit and shall have seven judges; 37 (14) The counties of Braxton, Clay, Gilmer and Webster 38 shall constitute the fourteenth circuit and shall have two 39 judges; 40 (15) The county of Harrison shall constitute the fifteenth 41 circuit and shall have three judges; 42 (16) The county of Marion shall constitute the sixteenth 43 circuit and shall have two judges; 44 (17) The county of Monongalia shall constitute the 45 seventeenth circuit and shall have three judges; 46 (18) The county of Preston shall constitute the eighteenth 47 circuit and shall have one judge; 48 (19) The counties of Barbour and Taylor shall constitute 49 the nineteenth circuit and shall have one judge; 50 (20) The county of Randolph shall constitute the 51 twentieth circuit and shall have one judge: 52 (21) The counties of Grant, Mineral and Tucker shall
- (22) The counties of Hampshire, Hardy and Pendleton shall
 constitute the twenty-second circuit and shall have two judges;

constitute the twenty-first circuit and shall have two judges;

53

(23) The counties of Berkeley, Jefferson and Morgan
 shall constitute the twenty-third circuit and shall have five

- 58 judges; Provided, That effective January 1, 2017, said circuit
- 59 court shall have six judges; said additional circuit judge to be
- 60 elected at the regularly scheduled election(s) to be held in the
- 61 year 2016 and every eighth year thereafter;
- 62 (24) The county of Wayne shall constitute the
- 63 twenty-fourth circuit and shall have two judges;
- 64 (25) The counties of Lincoln and Boone shall constitute
- 65 the twenty-fifth circuit and shall have two judges;
- 66 (26) The counties of Lewis and Upshur shall constitute
- 67 the twenty-sixth circuit and shall have one judge: Provided,
- 68 That effective January 1, 2017, said circuit court shall have
- 69 two judges; said additional circuit judge to be elected at the
- 70 regularly scheduled election(s) to be held in the year 2016
- 71 and every eighth year thereafter;
- 72 (27) The county of Wyoming shall constitute the
- 73 twenty-seventh circuit and shall have one judge;
- 74 (28) The county of Nicholas shall constitute the
- 75 twenty-eighth circuit and shall have one judge;
- 76 (29) The county of Putnam shall constitute the
- 77 twenty-ninth circuit and shall have two judges;
- 78 (30) The county of Mingo shall constitute the thirtieth
- 79 circuit and shall have one judge; and
- 80 (31) The counties of Monroe and Summers shall
- 81 constitute the thirty-first circuit and shall have one judge.
- 82 (b) The Kanawha County circuit court shall be a court of
- 83 concurrent jurisdiction with each single judge circuit where
- 84 the sitting judge in the single judge circuit is unavailable by
- 85 reason of sickness, vacation or other reason.

- 86 (c) Any judge in office on the effective date of the 87 reenactment of this section shall continue as a judge of the 88 circuit as constituted under prior enactments of this section, 89 unless sooner removed or retired as provided by law, until 90 December 31, 2016.
- 91 (d) The term of office of all circuit court judges shall be 92 for eight years. The term of office for all circuit court judges 93 elected during an election conducted in the year 2016 shall 94 commence on January 1, 2017, and end on December 31, 95 2024.
- 96 (e) For election purposes, in every judicial circuit having two or more judges there shall be numbered divisions 97 98 corresponding to the number of circuit judges in each circuit. 99 Each judge shall be elected at large from the entire circuit. In 100 each numbered division of a judicial circuit, the candidates 101 for nomination or election shall be voted upon and the votes 102 cast for the candidates in each division shall be tallied 103 separately from the votes cast for candidates in other 104 numbered divisions within the circuit. The candidate receiving the highest number of the votes cast within a 105 106 numbered division shall be nominated or elected, as the case 107 may be.
 - (f) Judges serving a judicial circuit comprised of four or more counties with two or more judges shall not be residents of the same county.

108

109

110

111

112

(g) The Supreme Court of Appeals shall, by rule, establish the terms of court of circuit judges.

The Joint Committee on Enrolled Bills hereby certifies that the foregoing bill is correctly enrolled. Chairman Senate Committee Chairman House Committee Originated in the Senate. In effect ninety days from passage. Clerk of the Senate Clerk of the House of Delegates President of the Senate Speaker of the House of Delegates Day of ...

PRESENTED TO THE GOVERNOR

MAR 2 3 2015

Time 10:51 Am